Forums
Posted By: Willo_ Electrical Advice - 29th Jun 2014 1:57pm
Am in the middle of decorating bedroom, now for the past few years there has only ever been one socket in bedroom, which just is no good now, I have pulled wires out of the wall, and i now have what you see in the picture.

I want to add 3 more double sockets to this, so am i right in thinking, that i cut in to one of these wires, connect up first socket then loop to next socket and then the next, and the other wire goes to the last socket to complete the circuit.

Attached picture 20140629_145105.jpg
Posted By: fish5133 Re: Electrical Advice - 29th Jun 2014 2:40pm
Hi Willo. Turn off the power first , or isolate the relevant ring main and check sockets are not live. Firstly i am not a qualified electrician so any comments are at your risk. With 2 cables going into the socket would suggest it is on the ring circuit ( just from your photo though it could be , but shouldnt be and unlikely to be, that you have a socket spurred of the ring main circuit and another spurred off that) Once youve determined that the socket is on the main ring circuit you can put a new socket onto either of the grey cables. Where you want the sockets going may determine which cable you use but you could have one on one cable and the other 2 on the other cable. The other option you have is a combination--- with a socket or 2 just spured off the cable and say 1 on the ring. The old rule of thumb was that if you had say 5 sockets on your upstairs ring main circuit then you were allowed to add up to 5 spurred sockets. For adding sockets looped on the ring main 3 more shouldnt be a problem for a domestic loading (power use) situation.If you spur off you will need junction boxes where you break into the main cable. You may also find the wiring colours have changed so will have to do your homework
Posted By: j_demo Re: Electrical Advice - 29th Jun 2014 2:41pm
yeh go for it, after all, what's the worst that could happen?*