Forums

My name is Natasha and I am currently studying at Liverpool Hope University for a Masters degree in the Beatles, popular music and society. I am one of few local students to be accepted onto the course and the only person from the Wirral.

My project is about the Beatles and the Wirral in the early 1960s, the Beatles early career 1960 - 1963 they played 11 venues around the Wirral on 64 different occasions. I have looked in many Beatles texts and the Wirral is hardly mentioned at all. Whether you know anything about the Beatles or not, like them or not I would love to hear from everyone. Below are some questions for guidance, any information big or small is very welcome. You can post on here or send me a private message all responses will be gratefully received, the information will be used in documentation of my research in the form of an essay, if you prefer for your real name to be used or not please let me know. I look forward to hearing from you.

Questions
What I would like to find out is what life like was for you on the Wirral in the Sixties,

Where you lived and if you were aware of social class?

How old were you about?

What are your musical memories of this time?

What music did you like then?

Were you aware of the Beatles before they became famous? If you were, how did you come to hear about them, did you ever get to see them?

Once the Beatles came more into the public eye did you like them or not. Why?

Posted By: FRANKIE Re: Music Reserch Help Needed, Wirral in the 1960s - 29th Apr 2011 12:56am
Hello Natasher, My advice is to get down to the Royal British leigeon, Withens Lane, Wallasey on a Wednesday night about 8pm, there you will meet members of the Cheshire Cats, Some of the original Merseybeat band members from the 60s, all have had close links with the Beatles in the early days, and love to talk about there experiences,
You will hear some original Merseybeat music, played by some of the original merseybeat musicians from the time,