Forums
Posted By: chev_chelios Wirral taxi drivers banned... - 14th Sep 2010 4:46pm
From wearing tracksuits,flip flops,dirty clothes. The code is not legally binding. Got this off bbc red button news.
Posted By: LiamJG Re: Wirral taxi drivers banned... - 15th Sep 2010 7:33am
I'm a taxi driver on the Wirral. I only found out about this today. Whilst I agree with it to some extent there are a number of issues that'll affect other drivers who are clean & tidy - like myself. I know it's targeted at those who appear scruffy dirty and unkempt but in doing so, it has the threat of affecting me.

I wear clean clothes each day. Mostly, it'll be tracksuit bottoms, clean (sparkling in fact!) trainers (my OCD helps!) and a t-shirt or jumper/fleece if it's cold. I'm clean, showered and tidy and my car is immaculate. I wear tracksuit bottoms as they provide me with a lot more comfort during the day than jeans (although I will wear them occasionally). I also wear shorts during the hot weather. I'd rather not be a sweating, uncomfortable mess for any of my passengers and not one of our regular or account customers has ever had any issue with it. Some have even commented on how cool and 'summery' I look.

This won't change a thing. Banning certain items of clothing worn by some of the scruffier drivers will only mean dirty jeans instead of tracksuits, crumpled trousers instead of shorts. It won't address the issue like they're intending. I will continue to dress as I've always done and know full well I'm smart, clean, tidy and presentable. Until such time as this becomes an enforceable law then it isn't going to make me wear uncomfortable clothing. I'm driving my car for hours each day (in sweltering heat at times), helping shoppers all day, helping elderly and disabled passengers all day and I'd like to feel comfortable, cool and un-irritated whilst doing so.
Posted By: _Ste_ Re: Wirral taxi drivers banned... - 15th Sep 2010 7:36am