Forums
Posted By: DavidB Carburettor rebuilds? - 27th Nov 2013 1:41pm
Does anyone know of any experts on the Wirral that can do decent rebuilds on carburettors?

I have an old Subaru which has a carb - the carbs on these are reknowned for their awfulness, and would like to get it rebuilt.
It has been rough and getting worse. It's completely drivable, but the revs are 2,000rpm - 3,000rpm, and I can't cure it, even after taking the carb to bits, cleaning it and putting it back together again. The jets look fine.
The car is taxed/MOT'd and can be driven to the garage etc.
Posted By: s7uajones Re: Carburettor rebuilds? - 27th Nov 2013 10:54pm
Hi there carb experts are hard to find these days
However I have some experience from my vauxhalll nova days

A carb works on air and fuel, open the throttle and more air is pulled in and sucks fuel with it. ,,, so you could have an air leak on the base of the carb or on the inlet manifold.
Take some wd40 and spray it around those areas and if the engine note changes thefts the problem
Hope this helps
Stu
Let me know how you get on
Posted By: turnip Re: Carburettor rebuilds? - 28th Nov 2013 6:50pm
Which model and engine code/size is it? Usually these are fitted with the Hitachi carbs.

All carburetors except the C-W are 2-barrel down-draft carburetors which supplies the best air/fuel mixture under any operating condition. this is effectively similar to the ubiquitous Weber design.

The C-W is a single barrel carburetor.

The two barrel carburettor uses a progressive linkage between the primary and secondary circuit. So ... first question ...Is the secondary side butterfly of the carb operating correctly? When you depress the accelerator pedal to the floor both the primary and secondary butterfly's should be fully open.

For optimum performance plus fuel economy, the secondary circuit of the carburetor is used only at high engine rpm. Normal low speed operation is handled by the primary circuit (from idle to approx 2500 - 3000 rpm).