Forums
Posted By: Handbag Nissan Micra dilema - 5th Jun 2011 2:44pm
Bought myself and old Nissan Micra LS (K10 series) for £250 last Saturday. As a first time driver I decided to buy something small and cheap that wasn't going to cost me a fortune to insure and run.. well some little sh1tbags stole the car early hours of Saturday morning, I now need a new ignition, new steering wheel, new steering column (as they have sheered the top of mine off when they stole the steering wheel)and new column housing, I phoned all the scrapyards and none of them have got the parts I need in. I can buy all but the column housing online second hand for about £200 including P&P and VAT, and then get a quote from a local mechanic to fit it all. The dilema is is it really worth spending the money to repair a car I had stolen less than a week after I bought it? problem is that the Police and I have a pretty good idea who stole it and they're really local to me frown I'd really value some opinions...
Posted By: diggingdeeper Re: Nissan Micra dilema - 5th Jun 2011 2:55pm
Dirt bags, the cost to the owner is really bad.

You should be able the secondhand parts for less than this, there are enough micras from that era getting scrapped at the moment. Japanese car parts are so dear new, I guess that bolsters the secondhand price quite a bit.

As you probably realise, you can get a complete car for those prices and get money back on the shell afterwards - but you need the facilities frown
Posted By: StuyMac Re: Nissan Micra dilema - 5th Jun 2011 8:37pm
Its also worth considering you may get £100 if you scrap the car.

Its a loss of £150, but depending on how much you are going to need to spend to get it back on the road, it may be an option worth considering frown
Posted By: TheDr Re: Nissan Micra dilema - 6th Jun 2011 1:50am