WikiWirral Online with you since 2003, fantastic.
Forum Stats
12251 Members
65 Forums
72897 Topics
982688 Posts
50 posts in the last 24hrs
Max Online: 7831 @ 8th Apr 2013 4:18pm
Who's Online - Click Me
87 registered (alan128, 14 invisible), 1906 Guests and 265 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Social Media : Follow Us


(Views 7days)This Weeks Most Read
Boom : New Ferry Explosion 1772
Incident at Westminster 1581
Martin Mcguinness dies 745
Council tax bill for this year 2017 520
Offset number plates 505
Port Sunlight 348
What does this all mean? 252
Huge Gas Explosion in New Ferry Sat 25/03/17 247
black contiboard locally? 241
Planet Earth Tonight 229
New General Forums
hi
by norma67
07:42 PM
Clocks go Forward
by Mark
25th Mar 2017 3:01pm
Mannequin Challenge AKA MRI Scan
by fish5133
24th Mar 2017 11:20am
Surely the most honest add.....
by buddy
20th Mar 2017 5:43pm
New Wirral History
William Bernard's building, Birkenhead
by yoller
20th Mar 2017 4:27pm
1882 Plan of the borough of Birkenhead and Wards
by Dave_Wood
19th Mar 2017 11:57am
New Brighton Coop
by Mike_White
9th Mar 2017 12:48pm
Tranmere High School for Girls 1882 Chesnut Grove
by sarah708
6th Mar 2017 8:23pm
Whetstone Lane, Birkenhead
by MoretonExpat
6th Mar 2017 8:04am
Forum Tips
Photo Gallery Forums
Birkenhead Transport Museum 24th Feb 2017
fireworks on the Mersey last night
Topic Replies
Boom : New Ferry Explosion
by missmahjong
04:31 PM
What song are you listening to?
by Vanmanone
03:50 PM
Huge Gas Explosion in New Ferry Sat 25/03/17
by venice
01:18 PM
Incident at Westminster
by casper
09:48 AM
Snowhite's Bird Rescue
by diggingdeeper
12:34 AM
33 lions
by granny
12:03 AM
hi
by rocks
11:51 PM
KEYS found
by rocks
11:48 PM
boxed 10 inch tablet for sale
by stumpyduck
07:12 PM
March
M Tu W Th F Sa Su
1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31
Recent Posts : What's On ?
Planet Earth Tonight
by Excoriator
10:31 AM
Lee and Cragg Quarries - Bacup
by Mark
23rd Mar 2017 7:43am
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#313757 - 28th Apr 2009 9:29pm Is it possible.......................
Wench Offline

H4H County Volunteer
Wiki Veteran

Registered: 9th Aug 2008
Posts: 8616
Loc: Second Circle of Hell.
I have an old tower system that we used for games mainly, but now I don't have the husband, it sits gathering dust (the pc, not the husband). Can I put the hard drive into my other tower to make it work faster and have more space?? I tried putting a bigger memory card in it but it only seemed to make it slower if anything.

I know it's about 5 or 6 yrs old but it seems like it's being powered by a hamster called Gerald!!

Failing that, would it be better to just treat it like an old car and break it for spares??

Any advice gratefully received laugh
_________________________
Sometimes Police Officers give more than just speeding tickets!

Itís hard to be fit as a fiddle when youíre shaped like a cello!

Top
Digital Wirral : Advertising
Click me for more Information......


Looking for a Service / Tradesman? Look in our Local Business Directory. Click Me
#313759 - 28th Apr 2009 9:33pm Re: Is it possible....................... [Re: Wench]
PaulWirral
Unregistered


Only a good CPU (AMD 5000+ dual core) and a good motherboard would make the computer go faster!

No harm though adding a second hard drive and new motherboards (mobo) tend to take the newer DDR SDRAM's.


Edited by PaulWirral (28th Apr 2009 9:34pm)

Top
#313765 - 28th Apr 2009 9:48pm Re: Is it possible....................... [Re: ]
Wench Offline

H4H County Volunteer
Wiki Veteran

Registered: 9th Aug 2008
Posts: 8616
Loc: Second Circle of Hell.
think I assume I won't lose anything off my hard drive if I add another one? Do they just "merge" or will it be partitioned?

I'm a bit dim when it comes to certain things to do with computers doh
_________________________
Sometimes Police Officers give more than just speeding tickets!

Itís hard to be fit as a fiddle when youíre shaped like a cello!

Top
#313768 - 28th Apr 2009 9:58pm Re: Is it possible....................... [Re: Wench]
diggingdeeper Offline

Wiki Guardian

Registered: 9th Jul 2008
Posts: 9892
Loc: Birkenhead
It will appear as a second drive - but if you put it on the same cable as your current one you need to change the links on the drive to be a "slave" - right up your street!
_________________________
In a time of universal deceit - telling the truth is a revolutionary act. George Orwell

When the debate is lost, slander becomes the tool of the loser. Socrates

Top
#313770 - 28th Apr 2009 9:59pm Re: Is it possible....................... [Re: Wench]
_Ste_ Offline


Wiki Master

Registered: 7th Aug 2005
Posts: 15988
Loc: New Brighton
no you wont lose any data, set one as master and the other as slave 1st though smile
_________________________


http://www.youtube.com/user/stetopop

Top
#313771 - 28th Apr 2009 10:01pm Re: Is it possible....................... [Re: diggingdeeper]
Wench Offline

H4H County Volunteer
Wiki Veteran

Registered: 9th Aug 2008
Posts: 8616
Loc: Second Circle of Hell.
Originally Posted By: diggingdeeper
It will appear as a second drive - but if you put it on the same cable as your current one you need to change the links on the drive to be a "slave" - right up your street!


I have "subs" not slaves raftl

Originally Posted By: _Ste_
no you wont lose any data, set one as master and the other as slave 1st though smile


How easy is it to do??
_________________________
Sometimes Police Officers give more than just speeding tickets!

Itís hard to be fit as a fiddle when youíre shaped like a cello!

Top
#313773 - 28th Apr 2009 10:05pm Re: Is it possible....................... [Re: Wench]
_Ste_ Offline


Wiki Master

Registered: 7th Aug 2005
Posts: 15988
Loc: New Brighton
just as easy as flicking the light switch on laugh

Loook on the back and there will be pins, there will be a little plastic jumper which you use as your `switch` on the top of the drive it should say `cs slave or master` set it to slave on one and the other should be on master anyway smile
_________________________


http://www.youtube.com/user/stetopop

Top
#313774 - 28th Apr 2009 10:06pm Re: Is it possible....................... [Re: _Ste_]
_Ste_ Offline


Wiki Master

Registered: 7th Aug 2005
Posts: 15988
Loc: New Brighton
but the one with windows needs to be master
_________________________


http://www.youtube.com/user/stetopop

Top
#313775 - 28th Apr 2009 10:06pm Re: Is it possible....................... [Re: _Ste_]
Wench Offline

H4H County Volunteer
Wiki Veteran

Registered: 9th Aug 2008
Posts: 8616
Loc: Second Circle of Hell.
Can I "kill" anything if I make a mistake raftl

Originally Posted By: _Ste_
but the one with windows needs to be master


Neither have windows - not even a skylight, and I don't need another Master raftl


Edited by PaganJay (28th Apr 2009 10:08pm)
Edit Reason: i'm in one of those moods lol meds have kicked in
_________________________
Sometimes Police Officers give more than just speeding tickets!

Itís hard to be fit as a fiddle when youíre shaped like a cello!

Top
#313776 - 28th Apr 2009 10:08pm Re: Is it possible....................... [Re: Wench]
_Ste_ Offline


Wiki Master

Registered: 7th Aug 2005
Posts: 15988
Loc: New Brighton
nahhh, you can`t make a mistake raftl
its easy smile
_________________________


http://www.youtube.com/user/stetopop

Top
#313871 - 29th Apr 2009 1:57pm Re: Is it possible....................... [Re: _Ste_]
Riki_Wirral Offline
Addict

Registered: 10th Oct 2008
Posts: 215
Loc: Claughton
wot speed is your tower currently?
_________________________

Top
#313882 - 29th Apr 2009 2:15pm Re: Is it possible....................... [Re: Riki_Wirral]
AX_125 Offline

Forum Guardian

Registered: 10th Nov 2003
Posts: 3793
Loc: Home
You could buy a hdd case and use the other hdd as an external USB drive.

Saves all the messing of jumpers and IDE cables etc.

One of these will do.

http://www.usbnow.co.uk/External_HDD_&_Cases-3.5%22_Hard_Drive_Cases/c10_25/index.html
_________________________

I am a signature virus, copy me into your signature to help me spread.

Top
#313889 - 29th Apr 2009 2:23pm Re: Is it possible....................... [Re: AX_125]
SoundLad Offline

Are you SoNutz?
Forum Master

Registered: 22nd Aug 2007
Posts: 2987
Loc: Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Just about to say about a HDD USB External case use it as a back up drive of some sort.. If you actually wanting to play the games that are on the HD in some cases it is possible but isnt in some othercases cause the game has to install on your main PC so it adds aload of stuff to the Registry and what nots.. But apart from that you can use it if you install it to your system making sure you set it to a slave drive swapping a little connection at the back of the hd but the best option is use a USB HDD Case it wont speed up your personal computer jaci it'l just give you more space to store stuff.. If you wanted to speed it up you either change the Processor of you system or upgrade your memory.. happy OR just my a faster computer lol if you where that desperate for more speed.
_________________________
Lee Mills


Top
#313944 - 29th Apr 2009 5:55pm Re: Is it possible....................... [Re: SoundLad]
Wench Offline

H4H County Volunteer
Wiki Veteran

Registered: 9th Aug 2008
Posts: 8616
Loc: Second Circle of Hell.
Originally Posted By: Riki_Wirral
wot speed is your tower currently?


Depends what mood Gerald the Hamster is in. It's very very slow but I think it's because of the amount of music and course work on it.

Originally Posted By: AX_125
You could buy a hdd case and use the other hdd as an external USB drive.

Saves all the messing of jumpers and IDE cables etc.

One of these will do.

http://www.usbnow.co.uk/External_HDD_&_Cases-3.5%22_Hard_Drive_Cases/c10_25/index.html

I shall look into that - cheers happy Ooooooooooooooooh I like the blue light one tease


Originally Posted By: SoundLad
Just about to say about a HDD USB External case use it as a back up drive of some sort.. If you actually wanting to play the games that are on the HD in some cases it is possible but isnt in some othercases cause the game has to install on your main PC so it adds aload of stuff to the Registry and what nots.. But apart from that you can use it if you install it to your system making sure you set it to a slave drive swapping a little connection at the back of the hd but the best option is use a USB HDD Case it wont speed up your personal computer jaci it'l just give you more space to store stuff.. If you wanted to speed it up you either change the Processor of you system or upgrade your memory.. happy OR just my a faster computer lol if you where that desperate for more speed.


The games have been wiped off it. I had to reformat it last year. I'd forgotten to reinstall Windows XP and have tried it but it gets so far and won't go any further - I'd guess it's safe to say it may well be fubard think I upgraded the memory on my main tower last year but it made bupkiss of an impact. Buying another one is not an option at the moment so it leaves me very few options.

Maybe breaking for parts is the best option raftl
_________________________
Sometimes Police Officers give more than just speeding tickets!

Itís hard to be fit as a fiddle when youíre shaped like a cello!

Top
#314697 - 1st May 2009 11:14pm Re: Is it possible....................... [Re: Wench]
purfek Offline
Smartchild

Registered: 23rd Apr 2009
Posts: 431
Loc: oxton
Actually you could improve the speed of your computer in several ways.
1) click on start button control panel
click on system then look for the hardware tab click on it then you will see device Manager click on that in device manager click on disk drives to select then right click and go to properties, click on the policy tab tick the enable write caching on the disk.
More tips and tweaks on the net
http://www.build-your-own-computers.com/optimize-windows-xp-disk-performance.html


http://www.pctipsbox.com/speed-up-windows-by-optimizing-your-page-file/

other tips include defrag the drive too.
More here on DMA
http://www.pcauthorities.com/pc-speed/activate-dma-mode-for-ide-controller


Edited by purfek (1st May 2009 11:20pm)

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  Mark 
Random Wirral Images

Click to View Topic.
Newest Topics
KEYS found
by rocks
11:48 PM
hi
by norma67
07:42 PM
Huge Gas Explosion in New Ferry Sat 25/03/17
by Dogwalker59
10:36 AM
Snowhite's Bird Rescue
by diggingdeeper
02:44 AM
Boom : New Ferry Explosion
by diggingdeeper
25th Mar 2017 9:39pm
For Sale & Free
boxed 10 inch tablet for sale
by stumpyduck
07:12 PM
various fly reels and boxes of fly's
by brady
25th Mar 2017 10:48am
Challenge extreme angle grinder used once
by brady
25th Mar 2017 10:43am
White Hyundai I30, 2011 plate For sale, 1.4 petrol
by goodoldphil
24th Mar 2017 6:24pm
I am having a clear out!
by TheComputerLab
24th Mar 2017 4:01pm
Featured Member
Registered: 12th Jun 2011
Posts: 232
Newest Members
norma67, shelleyc1990, Chippy, Onetoughcookie, Monkeyboyliam121
12251 Registered Users
Today's Birthdays
lillypad (70), Tait1969 (48)
New Wirral Info
Planet Earth Tonight
by granny
25th Mar 2017 11:50am
Reclaimed floorboards needed.
by Gold_Moon
25th Mar 2017 10:45am
Has Talktalk been hacked yet again?
by Habdab
24th Mar 2017 10:25am
What does this all mean?
by venice
22nd Mar 2017 12:20pm
black contiboard locally?
by fish5133
21st Mar 2017 9:30pm
News : New Topics
KEYS found
by rocks
11:48 PM
Another Terrorist Attack ? -London Islington
by fish5133
03:03 PM
Huge Gas Explosion in New Ferry Sat 25/03/17
by Dogwalker59
10:36 AM
Boom : New Ferry Explosion
by diggingdeeper
25th Mar 2017 9:39pm
Incident at Westminster
by granny
22nd Mar 2017 3:40pm
New Enthusiast Forums
Snowhite's Bird Rescue
by diggingdeeper
02:44 AM
Offset number plates
by venice
23rd Mar 2017 1:24am
File too large
by Dilly
20th Mar 2017 10:41am
ford focus 1.6 t reg rattling
by Little_B
19th Mar 2017 11:02pm
Alloys refurb and colour change. The Wheel Deal.
by TheComputerLab
18th Mar 2017 9:17am
(Views 24hrs)Trending Newest Topics
KEYS found 42
hi 25
Wirral Sunrise Sunset
Sunrise Mon 6:55am
Sunset Mon 7:39pm
Local Time Mon 7:15pm
WikiWirral Can . . . .