WikiWirral its great, register, enjoy and welcome.
Forum Stats
12450 Members
65 Forums
73744 Topics
996734 Posts
28 posts in the last 24hrs
Max Online: 7831 @ 8th Apr 2013 4:18pm
Who's Online - Click Me
69 registered (4436789, 14 invisible), 1162 Guests and 239 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Social Media : Follow Us


(Views 7days)This Weeks Most Read
Insecure sites. 610
Games for children 456
What is your Daily Exercise ? 396
Is this crime against humanity 348
Travelling Bus and Train Which Tickets? 233
Replacement Key Fob casing 217
Anyone read this ? 205
Taltalk Broadband Dying 195
Charity fishing match 191
Bath Lifts 136
New General Forums
Telephone Caller Alert - they are NOT BT BROADBAND
by Laraine
17th Nov 2017 6:04pm
Are you a Mathematician ?
by granny
15th Nov 2017 8:59am
Poor Bruce
by diggingdeeper
15th Nov 2017 1:15am
Charity fishing match
by paul110180
14th Nov 2017 8:03pm
New Wirral History
Downloadable oldwirral pdfs
by derekdwc
9th Oct 2017 12:26pm
Forum Tips
Photo Gallery Forums
clipper yachts arriving for round the world race
Azamara,silouette and balmoral this mornig
Topic Replies
What song are you listening to?
by snowshoes
Today at 06:05 AM
Fitting bathroom lights need help
by diggingdeeper
Today at 01:23 AM
Charity fishing match
by fish5133
Yesterday at 11:42 PM
Games for children
by venice
Yesterday at 10:50 PM
Downloadable oldwirral pdfs
by diggingdeeper
Yesterday at 05:02 PM
John Lewis advert
by buddy
Yesterday at 12:01 PM
DIY advice needed
by yr20405
17th Nov 2017 11:23pm
Charity fishing match
by paul110180
17th Nov 2017 9:29pm
where to get cheap carpet
by venice
17th Nov 2017 9:27pm
November
M Tu W Th F Sa Su
1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30
Recent Posts : What's On ?
The Lanterns at Chester Zoo
by granny
16th Nov 2017 1:05pm
bonfire night
by snowhite
3rd Nov 2017 5:40pm
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#313757 - 28th Apr 2009 9:29pm Is it possible.......................
Wench Offline

H4H County Volunteer
Wiki Veteran

Registered: 9th Aug 2008
Posts: 8616
Loc: Second Circle of Hell.
I have an old tower system that we used for games mainly, but now I don't have the husband, it sits gathering dust (the pc, not the husband). Can I put the hard drive into my other tower to make it work faster and have more space?? I tried putting a bigger memory card in it but it only seemed to make it slower if anything.

I know it's about 5 or 6 yrs old but it seems like it's being powered by a hamster called Gerald!!

Failing that, would it be better to just treat it like an old car and break it for spares??

Any advice gratefully received laugh
_________________________
Sometimes Police Officers give more than just speeding tickets!

Itís hard to be fit as a fiddle when youíre shaped like a cello!

Top
Google Ads
#313759 - 28th Apr 2009 9:33pm Re: Is it possible....................... [Re: Wench]
PaulWirral
Unregistered


Only a good CPU (AMD 5000+ dual core) and a good motherboard would make the computer go faster!

No harm though adding a second hard drive and new motherboards (mobo) tend to take the newer DDR SDRAM's.


Edited by PaulWirral (28th Apr 2009 9:34pm)

Top
#313765 - 28th Apr 2009 9:48pm Re: Is it possible....................... [Re: ]
Wench Offline

H4H County Volunteer
Wiki Veteran

Registered: 9th Aug 2008
Posts: 8616
Loc: Second Circle of Hell.
think I assume I won't lose anything off my hard drive if I add another one? Do they just "merge" or will it be partitioned?

I'm a bit dim when it comes to certain things to do with computers doh
_________________________
Sometimes Police Officers give more than just speeding tickets!

Itís hard to be fit as a fiddle when youíre shaped like a cello!

Top
#313768 - 28th Apr 2009 9:58pm Re: Is it possible....................... [Re: Wench]
diggingdeeper Offline

Wiki Master

Registered: 9th Jul 2008
Posts: 10792
Loc: Birkenhead
It will appear as a second drive - but if you put it on the same cable as your current one you need to change the links on the drive to be a "slave" - right up your street!
_________________________
In a time of universal deceit - telling the truth is a revolutionary act. George Orwell

When the debate is lost, slander becomes the tool of the loser. Socrates

Top
#313770 - 28th Apr 2009 9:59pm Re: Is it possible....................... [Re: Wench]
_Ste_ Offline


Wiki Master

Registered: 7th Aug 2005
Posts: 16049
Loc: New Brighton
no you wont lose any data, set one as master and the other as slave 1st though smile
_________________________


http://www.youtube.com/user/stetopop

Top
#313771 - 28th Apr 2009 10:01pm Re: Is it possible....................... [Re: diggingdeeper]
Wench Offline

H4H County Volunteer
Wiki Veteran

Registered: 9th Aug 2008
Posts: 8616
Loc: Second Circle of Hell.
Originally Posted By: diggingdeeper
It will appear as a second drive - but if you put it on the same cable as your current one you need to change the links on the drive to be a "slave" - right up your street!


I have "subs" not slaves raftl

Originally Posted By: _Ste_
no you wont lose any data, set one as master and the other as slave 1st though smile


How easy is it to do??
_________________________
Sometimes Police Officers give more than just speeding tickets!

Itís hard to be fit as a fiddle when youíre shaped like a cello!

Top
#313773 - 28th Apr 2009 10:05pm Re: Is it possible....................... [Re: Wench]
_Ste_ Offline


Wiki Master

Registered: 7th Aug 2005
Posts: 16049
Loc: New Brighton
just as easy as flicking the light switch on laugh

Loook on the back and there will be pins, there will be a little plastic jumper which you use as your `switch` on the top of the drive it should say `cs slave or master` set it to slave on one and the other should be on master anyway smile
_________________________


http://www.youtube.com/user/stetopop

Top
#313774 - 28th Apr 2009 10:06pm Re: Is it possible....................... [Re: _Ste_]
_Ste_ Offline


Wiki Master

Registered: 7th Aug 2005
Posts: 16049
Loc: New Brighton
but the one with windows needs to be master
_________________________


http://www.youtube.com/user/stetopop

Top
#313775 - 28th Apr 2009 10:06pm Re: Is it possible....................... [Re: _Ste_]
Wench Offline

H4H County Volunteer
Wiki Veteran

Registered: 9th Aug 2008
Posts: 8616
Loc: Second Circle of Hell.
Can I "kill" anything if I make a mistake raftl

Originally Posted By: _Ste_
but the one with windows needs to be master


Neither have windows - not even a skylight, and I don't need another Master raftl


Edited by PaganJay (28th Apr 2009 10:08pm)
Edit Reason: i'm in one of those moods lol meds have kicked in
_________________________
Sometimes Police Officers give more than just speeding tickets!

Itís hard to be fit as a fiddle when youíre shaped like a cello!

Top
#313776 - 28th Apr 2009 10:08pm Re: Is it possible....................... [Re: Wench]
_Ste_ Offline


Wiki Master

Registered: 7th Aug 2005
Posts: 16049
Loc: New Brighton
nahhh, you can`t make a mistake raftl
its easy smile
_________________________


http://www.youtube.com/user/stetopop

Top
#313871 - 29th Apr 2009 1:57pm Re: Is it possible....................... [Re: _Ste_]
Riki_Wirral Offline
Addict

Registered: 10th Oct 2008
Posts: 215
Loc: Claughton
wot speed is your tower currently?
_________________________

Top
#313882 - 29th Apr 2009 2:15pm Re: Is it possible....................... [Re: Riki_Wirral]
AX_125 Offline

Forum Guardian

Registered: 10th Nov 2003
Posts: 3793
Loc: Home
You could buy a hdd case and use the other hdd as an external USB drive.

Saves all the messing of jumpers and IDE cables etc.

One of these will do.

http://www.usbnow.co.uk/External_HDD_&_Cases-3.5%22_Hard_Drive_Cases/c10_25/index.html
_________________________

I am a signature virus, copy me into your signature to help me spread.

Top
#313889 - 29th Apr 2009 2:23pm Re: Is it possible....................... [Re: AX_125]
SoundLad Offline

Are you SoNutz?
Forum Master

Registered: 22nd Aug 2007
Posts: 2988
Loc: Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Just about to say about a HDD USB External case use it as a back up drive of some sort.. If you actually wanting to play the games that are on the HD in some cases it is possible but isnt in some othercases cause the game has to install on your main PC so it adds aload of stuff to the Registry and what nots.. But apart from that you can use it if you install it to your system making sure you set it to a slave drive swapping a little connection at the back of the hd but the best option is use a USB HDD Case it wont speed up your personal computer jaci it'l just give you more space to store stuff.. If you wanted to speed it up you either change the Processor of you system or upgrade your memory.. happy OR just my a faster computer lol if you where that desperate for more speed.
_________________________
Lee Mills


Top
#313944 - 29th Apr 2009 5:55pm Re: Is it possible....................... [Re: SoundLad]
Wench Offline

H4H County Volunteer
Wiki Veteran

Registered: 9th Aug 2008
Posts: 8616
Loc: Second Circle of Hell.
Originally Posted By: Riki_Wirral
wot speed is your tower currently?


Depends what mood Gerald the Hamster is in. It's very very slow but I think it's because of the amount of music and course work on it.

Originally Posted By: AX_125
You could buy a hdd case and use the other hdd as an external USB drive.

Saves all the messing of jumpers and IDE cables etc.

One of these will do.

http://www.usbnow.co.uk/External_HDD_&_Cases-3.5%22_Hard_Drive_Cases/c10_25/index.html

I shall look into that - cheers happy Ooooooooooooooooh I like the blue light one tease


Originally Posted By: SoundLad
Just about to say about a HDD USB External case use it as a back up drive of some sort.. If you actually wanting to play the games that are on the HD in some cases it is possible but isnt in some othercases cause the game has to install on your main PC so it adds aload of stuff to the Registry and what nots.. But apart from that you can use it if you install it to your system making sure you set it to a slave drive swapping a little connection at the back of the hd but the best option is use a USB HDD Case it wont speed up your personal computer jaci it'l just give you more space to store stuff.. If you wanted to speed it up you either change the Processor of you system or upgrade your memory.. happy OR just my a faster computer lol if you where that desperate for more speed.


The games have been wiped off it. I had to reformat it last year. I'd forgotten to reinstall Windows XP and have tried it but it gets so far and won't go any further - I'd guess it's safe to say it may well be fubard think I upgraded the memory on my main tower last year but it made bupkiss of an impact. Buying another one is not an option at the moment so it leaves me very few options.

Maybe breaking for parts is the best option raftl
_________________________
Sometimes Police Officers give more than just speeding tickets!

Itís hard to be fit as a fiddle when youíre shaped like a cello!

Top
#314697 - 1st May 2009 11:14pm Re: Is it possible....................... [Re: Wench]
purfek Offline
Smartchild

Registered: 23rd Apr 2009
Posts: 431
Loc: oxton
Actually you could improve the speed of your computer in several ways.
1) click on start button control panel
click on system then look for the hardware tab click on it then you will see device Manager click on that in device manager click on disk drives to select then right click and go to properties, click on the policy tab tick the enable write caching on the disk.
More tips and tweaks on the net
http://www.build-your-own-computers.com/optimize-windows-xp-disk-performance.html


http://www.pctipsbox.com/speed-up-windows-by-optimizing-your-page-file/

other tips include defrag the drive too.
More here on DMA
http://www.pcauthorities.com/pc-speed/activate-dma-mode-for-ide-controller


Edited by purfek (1st May 2009 11:20pm)

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  Mark 
Random Wirral Images

Click to View Topic.
Newest Topics
Fitting bathroom lights need help
by yr20405
17th Nov 2017 11:29pm
Charity fishing match
by paul110180
17th Nov 2017 9:29pm
Games for children
by granny
17th Nov 2017 1:35am
Are there any doctors or nurses on here.
by granny
16th Nov 2017 11:52pm
Bath Lifts
by locomotive
16th Nov 2017 6:22pm
For Sale & Free
where to get cheap carpet
by mickturner
17th Nov 2017 4:24pm
White radiator single panel 1400 x 600 - good cond
by gerrymoore
16th Nov 2017 9:16am
Samsung Galaxy S7 Titanium Silver + Extras
by j_demo
15th Nov 2017 7:29pm
Vaping set
by paul110180
15th Nov 2017 2:37pm
Wanted wii consul box
by dodie
15th Nov 2017 12:19pm
Featured Member
Registered: 17th Jul 2011
Posts: 8247
Newest Members
monadrexx, Dipper, DarioLo, JohnG74, kerryanne1980
12450 Registered Users
Today's Birthdays
No Birthdays
New Wirral Info
Fitting bathroom lights need help
by yr20405
17th Nov 2017 11:29pm
Games for children
by granny
17th Nov 2017 1:35am
Bath Lifts
by locomotive
16th Nov 2017 6:22pm
The Lanterns at Chester Zoo
by granny
16th Nov 2017 1:05pm
Travelling Bus and Train Which Tickets?
by fish5133
15th Nov 2017 5:31pm
News : New Topics
Anyone read this ?
by venice
16th Nov 2017 3:22pm
Is this crime against humanity
by granny
13th Nov 2017 4:04pm
Wedding for Cancer Research !
by Katemargaret
11th Nov 2017 10:38pm
The EU and us.
by Excoriator
11th Nov 2017 8:44am
Police, St Josephs Primary, Woodchurch Road
by diggingdeeper
7th Nov 2017 3:55pm
New Enthusiast Forums
Charity fishing match
by paul110180
17th Nov 2017 9:29pm
Are there any doctors or nurses on here.
by granny
16th Nov 2017 11:52pm
Taltalk Broadband Dying
by diggingdeeper
15th Nov 2017 3:40am
Replacement Key Fob casing
by fish5133
14th Nov 2017 7:45pm
Insecure sites.
by venice
13th Nov 2017 3:54pm
(Views 24hrs)Trending Newest Topics
Wirral Sunrise Sunset
Sunrise Sun 7:46am
Sunset Sun 4:09pm
Local Time Sun 9:04am
WikiWirral Can . . . .
Advertising Click me
To Advertise with
Wikiwirral Click Me