It uses the front camera to see if you are watching the screen, if so it keeps screen lit and puts the eye symbol up.
The function is called "Smart Stay" so disable that.
It comes under settings-display somewhere
In a time of universal deceit - telling the truth is a revolutionary act. George Orwell
When the debate is lost, slander becomes the tool of the loser. Socrates