Forums
Posted By: LisaW Redundancy Insurance - 24th Oct 2010 8:03pm
Can anyone suggest a good company to take out this type of insurance with.

I work for a Council and it's looking likely that there will be more redundancies coming up although my job is safe for a year or so due to the project we are working on

I have life insurance etc but never bothered with income protection as my Hubby is in a very secure job and i have been working for the Council for 11 years and have never had previous concerns about losing my job.

From quotes, i can get around £1k cover for £35 a month but if anyone could advise if that's a good price or if the insurance is worth it, i'd be grateful smile

Thanks

Lisa
Posted By: insanekitty Re: Redundancy Insurance - 24th Oct 2010 8:08pm
You would have to be careful and make sure they pay out if your hubby is still working. As with any policy check the small print cos they will try and get out of paying if then could.
I claimed last year on my mortgage policy cos I signed on sick and I had to wait for 60 days then they paid out in 30 day arrears.
Posted By: LisaW Re: Redundancy Insurance - 24th Oct 2010 8:14pm
Hi, thanks for the reply. The insurance would be for me to cover the loss of my income so could they still refuse to pay out if Hubby is working

I will get redundancy pay so i'm not sure if that will affect the insurance payout.

Grateful for the advice smile
Posted By: Softy_Southerner Re: Redundancy Insurance - 24th Oct 2010 8:42pm
In my experience if there's even a tiny inkling that you were pre warned that you were going to be made redundant then they will take your money but won't pay out when you try and claim
Posted By: LisaW Re: Redundancy Insurance - 24th Oct 2010 8:50pm
Hi, just to clarify, my department was restructured recently and we lost 2 Managers via voluntary early retirement so as things stand, my job is safe and i have not been told that there is any future risk of redundancy.