Forums
Posted By: pablo42 Eastham - 8th Dec 2011 9:14am

Chester Road in Eastham 1960s

Attached picture eastham20chester20road20st20albans20series2026662.jpg
Posted By: goodoldphil Re: Eastham - 8th Dec 2011 1:26pm
Thanks for posting this Pablo42, I moved to Eastham in 1960 so it is interesting to see what the place looked like then. This will promote quite a bit of discussion when I show it to my sons and they try and remember the names of all the other shops. Thanks again!
Posted By: sunnyside Re: Eastham - 8th Dec 2011 1:40pm
in this row in 64 there was a haidressers called the morley were i was an apprentice love the pic but dosen't it look old fashioned sue ha ha ha
Posted By: luckycharm Re: Eastham - 8th Dec 2011 1:46pm
i remember the morley hairdressers ,i lived in eastham for 14 years and now my mum has moved there so im visiting there again it s changed loads my old school is now houses .
Posted By: sunnyside Re: Eastham - 8th Dec 2011 2:19pm
look at the parking spaces ha ha things have changed since then you can't park easy there now or anywhere else for that matter when you look at old pics there are not many cars are there? i used to have a morris minor like one in pic (moggie1000) lol
Posted By: luckycharm Re: Eastham - 8th Dec 2011 2:38pm
your dead right the road there is always busy,its nice to see it looking quite it looks totally different.
Posted By: pablo42 Re: Eastham - 8th Dec 2011 2:47pm
Wasn't Irwins taken over by Tesco in the sixties?
Posted By: pablo42 Re: Eastham - 8th Dec 2011 2:48pm
I've got some more of this area, I'll dig them out
Posted By: Vanmanone Re: Eastham - 8th Dec 2011 6:06pm
Not sure if he was there at that time`I remember Mr Kinnerston(how you spell it??) He owned the cycle shop on the end,Nice bloke very helpful.
regards Davy 1970 and today
Posted By: goodoldphil Re: Eastham - 9th Dec 2011 12:58am
Mr Kynaston had the bike shop, he was a really nice guy - later lived in Bridle Road.