Forums
Posted By: diggingdeeper Seaplane Station Rock Ferry - 12th Oct 2008 2:05pm
I have no knowledge of this other than it appears on maps around 1950 - The Seaplane Station existed beside Rock Ferry Pier.

Was this another short lived business by a post war pilot or was it a proper service to/from somewhere?
Posted By: diggingdeeper Re: Seaplane Station Rock Ferry - 11th Nov 2008 9:25pm
Guess nobody else knows anything about this aerodrome, everything I have found has been around 1930 not 1950 - but it is not unusual for maps to carry forward duff info like this. Anyway here are a few snippets I have found in connection with this, just in case somebody wants to follow up in the future ....

Sept 1928
Flying Boat (Short Calcutta) of Imperial Airways used on the Mersey. Liverpool Maritime Aerodrome was operated by the Mersey Docks and Harbour Board between Rock Ferry Pier and Garston Docks. Only ran from Sep 22 to Oct 4

Story dated January 10 1930
Liverpool Marine Airport Approved
THE Air Ministry has approved, with the concurrence of the Commissioners of Customs and Excise, of the following area at Liverpool as a Customs " aerodrome " for marine aircraft carrying only passengers and light baggage. That portion of the River Mersey bounded on the north by Rock Ferry Pier (Lat. 53° 22'30" N., Long. 2° 59' 45"W.) on the west bank and by a line running true east from the pier and on the south by a line running true west from a position in Garston Docks (Lat. 53° 21' N., Long. 2° 54' 30" W.) on the eastern bank.

Air Ministry Notice published February 14 1930
A map and full particulars of the Liverpool Customs Seaplane Port
appear in the Air Pilot (Volume I) Monthly Supplement No. 5, separate copies of which are obtainable direct from H.M. Stationery Office or through any bookseller at the price of 6^. Net

National Archives
Inter-war flying boat on the river Mersey. M387/MAS/2/55 c. 1928