Forums
Posted By: jonno40 Computer protection - 12th Jan 2009 5:08pm
could anyone recommend a decent downloadable computer protection software my subscription to mcafee is due to end (thank god)
Posted By: Softy_Southerner Re: Computer protection - 12th Jan 2009 5:21pm
I use AVG which is free and have no problems
Posted By: AX_125 Re: Computer protection - 12th Jan 2009 5:26pm
I have some experience with AVG and in my experience i didn't find it to be to good. I would recommend ESET Nod32, small system footprint and finds and deletes virus' that AVG and Symantec can't even find.

I have fixed so many infected computers with NOD 32.
Posted By: Tony_1985 Re: Computer protection - 12th Jan 2009 5:50pm
AVG is one of the better free downloadable Anti-Virus softwares about at the moment.

Not had much experience myself with downloadable one's, but i do suggest

AVG
NOD32

Have had reports from loads of people saying they are both as good as each other.

But personally I think I will keep to my payed subscription one's.
Posted By: Mark Re: Computer protection - 12th Jan 2009 7:19pm
Originally Posted by AX_125
I have some experience with AVG and in my experience i didn't find it to be to good. I would recommend ESET Nod32, small system footprint and finds and deletes virus' that AVG and Symantec can't even find.

As Ax says happy

You pay for what you get.
wouldn't trust a free Antivirus or Firewall.
Cos you cant balme anyone.
Posted By: Tony_1985 Re: Computer protection - 12th Jan 2009 7:43pm
Exactly why i pay for my protection

£19.99 for 1 year of Kaspersky Internet Security

Bought this year's protection from Amazon UK
Posted By: scoops Re: Computer protection - 12th Jan 2009 8:19pm
I've had no problems at all using free software.
Nearly 10 years using AVG, Zonealarm, Adaware and Spybot S&D with regular updates and scans. Not once did anything slip past my defences laugh
Maybe I was lucky, but as I was using Windows 98 I must have been really lucky wink