Forums
Posted By: emmski Knowledge of old Birkenhead Street..... - 19th Mar 2011 8:40pm
I have been researching my Mother in Laws family tree. Her father was from Birkenhead. Below are some Street names that have come up on census's etc , if anyone has any info, pic etc about any of them , that would be fantastic! grateful for any info as I have no personal knowledge of the area at all. Thank you.

Whetstone View
Carpenters Row
Warwick Street
Huskisson Street
Old Chester Road
Gladstone Street
Egerton Street
Posted By: Dava2479 Re: Knowledge of old Birkenhead Street..... - 19th Mar 2011 9:57pm
Hi Emmski,can`t help you with whetstone veiw,but carpenters row is off chester st which is near b/hed town hall and I`m pretty sure it`s t the top of market st.A lot of streets in Birkenhead have been renamed over the years which makes your request harder to gain info on,however I can suggest emailing Will at wirral archives for info.

[email protected]
Posted By: emmski Re: Knowledge of old Birkenhead Street..... - 19th Mar 2011 10:03pm
Will do, thanks very much for your help
Posted By: Dava2479 Re: Knowledge of old Birkenhead Street..... - 19th Mar 2011 10:26pm
I have found Egerton st,click the link and zoom in and have a look around Chester st area.It`s on the 1910 map.All the streets you have named seem to be in the same area.

Chester st
Posted By: davew3 Re: Knowledge of old Birkenhead Street..... - 19th Mar 2011 10:32pm
Gladstone st gone, was off Exmouth st,
Warwick st gone was off Oxton road, now called Maritime park and the other end is Warwick close,
Huskisson st gone I think It ran around St Johns church which has gone and now built over with the pyramids Grange road.
Old Chester road is a long rd so you would need a number.

If you look at the topic further down this forum list you will find one on Lowther st ,Fox st, I think there's a map where Gladstone st was.
Posted By: emmski Re: Knowledge of old Birkenhead Street..... - 19th Mar 2011 10:59pm