Forums
Posted By: granny "Spy Cars" use to be banned - 21st Jun 2014 10:27am

Good.

There should therefore be a fair number more traffic wardens jobs coming up.
A ridiculous waste of money in my opinion, which kept baliffs reaping most of the rewards.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-27952341
Posted By: mrhanky Re: "Spy Cars" use to be banned - 21st Jun 2014 5:20pm
if you park where you shouldn't then i don't see why it makes a difference if you get done by a human sticking a ticket on the car or camera and get something in the post??

i notice they aren't saying the same about speed cameras though
Posted By: Helles Re: "Spy Cars" use to be banned - 21st Jun 2014 9:29pm
Originally Posted by mrhanky
if you park where you shouldn't then i don't see why it makes a difference if you get done by a human sticking a ticket on the car or camera and get something in the post??

i notice they aren't saying the same about speed cameras though

I've been driving for 47 years and never had a parking ticket. Actually I tell a lie, I got one for dropping off a disabled special needs child in a marked minibus on a Council contract by a Council spy car. These things don't discriminate. At least a traffic official on foot would hopefully use a bit of common sense in a case like that but these cowards who hide in little cars (notice they never look anyone in the eye) don't give the proverbial! It is a cash cow and anyone who says differently is a Council executive or naïve.
Posted By: granny Re: "Spy Cars" use to be banned - 21st Jun 2014 10:02pm
This link seems to expose more of what really happens.

http://wirralinittogether.wordpress...sued-how-much-cash-collected-by-spy-car/

They pick prime locations, set the vehicle up and then leave it operating unmanned.
Hence, they are not covering other areas beside the ones that bring in the most revenue. As you say Helles, nothing other than a 'cash cow'.

That's how I understand it anyway.