Forums
Posted By: Willo_ Diesel Service - 17th Oct 2013 9:08pm
I got a job servicing a Citroen C8 on Sunday.
I have never worked on a diesel before, what things need doing on a diesel to service it.
Posted By: turnip Re: Diesel Service - 17th Oct 2013 9:13pm
All the usual. Just remember that diesel oil is horrible stuff and avoid getting it on you at all costs smile
Posted By: Excoriator Re: Diesel Service - 17th Oct 2013 11:38pm
Why not look up what Citroen recommend and simply follow that?
Posted By: Willo_ Re: Diesel Service - 18th Oct 2013 12:35am
That would be because I wanted to ask on here. I do apologize for asking a question.
Yes I know its in wrong section.
Posted By: s7uajones Re: Diesel Service - 18th Oct 2013 4:09am
Best left to an expert or at least someone with half a clue
Posted By: baconbutty Re: Diesel Service - 18th Oct 2013 8:25am
I hope you are not gonna charge a fee
Posted By: Willo_ Re: Diesel Service - 18th Oct 2013 9:45am
Originally Posted by s7uajones
Just the same as air conditioning repairs should be left to some one with half a clue, unlike someone who could not find a leak after 3 attempts. That would not be you would it????
Posted By: Excoriator Re: Diesel Service - 18th Oct 2013 11:05am
"Best left to an expert or at least someone with half a clue"

My feeling too, although I wouldn't have put it so bluntly. If you are asking here it is likely you will do more harm than good.

Citroen servicing information is your best bet.
Posted By: Gibbo Re: Diesel Service - 18th Oct 2013 12:47pm
Oh dear, bitchfest in just half a dozen posts. Anyone who can do a basic service on a petrol car can do the same on a diesel.

The only difference is that oil and fuel filter is changed more frequently, and you need to be careful not to get too much air into the system when changing the fuel filter.

Citroen and Peugeot share a common ground. Personally I do the following:

Air filter

Oil filter and oil & sump plug

fuel filter