Forums
Posted By: lawton building a boot install - 5th Feb 2005 9:22pm
hi, ive just bought two 10 inch jbl off dikky and ive already got a 15 inch sub in my boot so theres not enough room to put two 10 inch sub boxs in the boot so iam going to have to make mine own sub boxs. whats the best material to build it out of e.g. plywood or M.D.F.
Posted By: lawton Re: building a boot install - 5th Feb 2005 9:33pm
also any tips or advise would be helpful. cheers
Posted By: Scooby Re: building a boot install - 6th Feb 2005 1:59am
MDF Mate, I am no expert but i know this is the stuff you use.
Posted By: AL Re: building a boot install - 6th Feb 2005 11:56am
Definetly use MDF cheap and easy to work with, the best density to work with is 18mm hope this helps happy
Posted By: aceritz Re: building a boot install - 6th Feb 2005 1:18pm
mdf is the one that everyone uses, if you can and you can afford it go for 3/4" expensive plywood, the accoustic properties of this stuff is great,
to be perfectly honest you prob wont notice the difference, so go for mdf
Posted By: Johnny Alan Re: building a boot install - 6th Feb 2005 2:37pm
gogogadget is the best one to speak to mate he just done his install and it sound and looks the buisness its dead important to get the right size volume boxes for the speakers if you dont like i did then when you turn ya sound more than half way up it starts to sounds c..p and distorts, I think if ya speak nice enough he might tell you the sizes you need as i think he has a book on boot builds. If ya planning on covering it in fabric go to abacan fabrics tramere they have a leather look material which is dead cheep and they have it in all sort of colours and it looks sweet it a change from the usual black fabric ya see.
Posted By: lawton Re: building a boot install - 6th Feb 2005 4:25pm