WikiWirral Wirral's Biggest Online Forum
Forum Stats
12137 Members
65 Forums
72391 Topics
976121 Posts
23 posts in the last 24hrs
Max Online: 7831 @ 8th Apr 2013 4:18pm
Who's Online - Click Me
71 registered (adrianb, 12 invisible), 1398 Guests and 243 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Social Media : Follow Us


(Views 7days)This Weeks Most Read
HMT Lancastria 543
Another Big Waste Fire in Liverpool. 469
Vet help 456
Name help 416
Another tree down on Arrowe park Road? 237
Talk Talk Security Breach 232
Mobile mechanic needed to fit a wishbone 192
That was kept a bit quiet? 186
RIP Peter Vaughan 143
MIG welder 126
New General Forums
Lib/dems rule the day
by JimmyG
2nd Dec 2016 10:59pm
Daft funny joke
by venice
2nd Dec 2016 5:54pm
We dont learn much.
by venice
1st Dec 2016 9:22pm
Freegle
by venice
1st Dec 2016 6:36pm
New Wirral History
Name help
by Paternoster21
3rd Dec 2016 8:03am
HMT Lancastria
by granny
2nd Dec 2016 11:38pm
Cubitts Holland and Hannen
by fish5133
27th Nov 2016 5:38pm
Fire station
by chris7777
22nd Nov 2016 12:24pm
Buy a house in Greasby for 12s a week - in 1935
by yoller
6th Oct 2016 6:56pm
Forum Tips
Photo Gallery Forums
fireworks on the Mersey last night
Hadlow train station
Topic Replies
Vet help
by venice
09:57 PM
HMT Lancastria
by cools
04:59 PM
Micro desktop PC
by anniebo28
02:24 PM
Talk Talk Security Breach
by Gibbo
01:15 PM
RIP Peter Vaughan
by Gibbo
10:56 AM
Another Big Waste Fire in Liverpool.
by Gibbo
10:53 AM
Blank Page : Offline
by Mark
09:23 AM
Iphone 5s, Grey, near mint condition, £50
by anniebo28
7th Dec 2016 9:39pm
Mobile mechanic needed to fit a wishbone
by anniebo28
7th Dec 2016 7:30pm
December
M Tu W Th F Sa Su
1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31
Recent Posts : What's On ?
Wirral TUC Meeting re Update on Wallasey CLP Suspe
by RUDEBOX
30th Nov 2016 9:16pm
World Aids Day Event 2016. Liverpool
by RUDEBOX
30th Nov 2016 9:05pm
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#313757 - 28th Apr 2009 9:29pm Is it possible.......................
Wench Offline

H4H County Volunteer
Wiki Veteran

Registered: 9th Aug 2008
Posts: 8616
Loc: Second Circle of Hell.
I have an old tower system that we used for games mainly, but now I don't have the husband, it sits gathering dust (the pc, not the husband). Can I put the hard drive into my other tower to make it work faster and have more space?? I tried putting a bigger memory card in it but it only seemed to make it slower if anything.

I know it's about 5 or 6 yrs old but it seems like it's being powered by a hamster called Gerald!!

Failing that, would it be better to just treat it like an old car and break it for spares??

Any advice gratefully received laugh
_________________________
Sometimes Police Officers give more than just speeding tickets!

Itís hard to be fit as a fiddle when youíre shaped like a cello!

Top
Digital Wirral : Advertising
Click me for more Information......

WikiWirral Numbers : Between 150 and 200 New Members Every Month. With Over 3,500 unique visits and 35,000 Page Views each day. Average +500 Search Engines Daily and over 1,000,000 Million Page views a Month. Advertising from £20 . Click Me
#313759 - 28th Apr 2009 9:33pm Re: Is it possible....................... [Re: Wench]
PaulWirral
Unregistered


Only a good CPU (AMD 5000+ dual core) and a good motherboard would make the computer go faster!

No harm though adding a second hard drive and new motherboards (mobo) tend to take the newer DDR SDRAM's.


Edited by PaulWirral (28th Apr 2009 9:34pm)

Top
#313765 - 28th Apr 2009 9:48pm Re: Is it possible....................... [Re: ]
Wench Offline

H4H County Volunteer
Wiki Veteran

Registered: 9th Aug 2008
Posts: 8616
Loc: Second Circle of Hell.
think I assume I won't lose anything off my hard drive if I add another one? Do they just "merge" or will it be partitioned?

I'm a bit dim when it comes to certain things to do with computers doh
_________________________
Sometimes Police Officers give more than just speeding tickets!

Itís hard to be fit as a fiddle when youíre shaped like a cello!

Top
#313768 - 28th Apr 2009 9:58pm Re: Is it possible....................... [Re: Wench]
diggingdeeper Offline

Wiki Guardian

Registered: 9th Jul 2008
Posts: 9559
Loc: Birkenhead
It will appear as a second drive - but if you put it on the same cable as your current one you need to change the links on the drive to be a "slave" - right up your street!
_________________________
In a time of universal deceit - telling the truth is a revolutionary act. George Orwell

When the debate is lost, slander becomes the tool of the loser. Socrates

Top
#313770 - 28th Apr 2009 9:59pm Re: Is it possible....................... [Re: Wench]
_Ste_ Offline


Wiki Master

Registered: 7th Aug 2005
Posts: 15985
Loc: New Brighton
no you wont lose any data, set one as master and the other as slave 1st though smile
_________________________


http://www.youtube.com/user/stetopop

Top
#313771 - 28th Apr 2009 10:01pm Re: Is it possible....................... [Re: diggingdeeper]
Wench Offline

H4H County Volunteer
Wiki Veteran

Registered: 9th Aug 2008
Posts: 8616
Loc: Second Circle of Hell.
Originally Posted By: diggingdeeper
It will appear as a second drive - but if you put it on the same cable as your current one you need to change the links on the drive to be a "slave" - right up your street!


I have "subs" not slaves raftl

Originally Posted By: _Ste_
no you wont lose any data, set one as master and the other as slave 1st though smile


How easy is it to do??
_________________________
Sometimes Police Officers give more than just speeding tickets!

Itís hard to be fit as a fiddle when youíre shaped like a cello!

Top
#313773 - 28th Apr 2009 10:05pm Re: Is it possible....................... [Re: Wench]
_Ste_ Offline


Wiki Master

Registered: 7th Aug 2005
Posts: 15985
Loc: New Brighton
just as easy as flicking the light switch on laugh

Loook on the back and there will be pins, there will be a little plastic jumper which you use as your `switch` on the top of the drive it should say `cs slave or master` set it to slave on one and the other should be on master anyway smile
_________________________


http://www.youtube.com/user/stetopop

Top
#313774 - 28th Apr 2009 10:06pm Re: Is it possible....................... [Re: _Ste_]
_Ste_ Offline


Wiki Master

Registered: 7th Aug 2005
Posts: 15985
Loc: New Brighton
but the one with windows needs to be master
_________________________


http://www.youtube.com/user/stetopop

Top
#313775 - 28th Apr 2009 10:06pm Re: Is it possible....................... [Re: _Ste_]
Wench Offline

H4H County Volunteer
Wiki Veteran

Registered: 9th Aug 2008
Posts: 8616
Loc: Second Circle of Hell.
Can I "kill" anything if I make a mistake raftl

Originally Posted By: _Ste_
but the one with windows needs to be master


Neither have windows - not even a skylight, and I don't need another Master raftl


Edited by PaganJay (28th Apr 2009 10:08pm)
Edit Reason: i'm in one of those moods lol meds have kicked in
_________________________
Sometimes Police Officers give more than just speeding tickets!

Itís hard to be fit as a fiddle when youíre shaped like a cello!

Top
#313776 - 28th Apr 2009 10:08pm Re: Is it possible....................... [Re: Wench]
_Ste_ Offline


Wiki Master

Registered: 7th Aug 2005
Posts: 15985
Loc: New Brighton
nahhh, you can`t make a mistake raftl
its easy smile
_________________________


http://www.youtube.com/user/stetopop

Top
#313871 - 29th Apr 2009 1:57pm Re: Is it possible....................... [Re: _Ste_]
Riki_Wirral Offline
Addict

Registered: 10th Oct 2008
Posts: 215
Loc: Claughton
wot speed is your tower currently?
_________________________

Top
#313882 - 29th Apr 2009 2:15pm Re: Is it possible....................... [Re: Riki_Wirral]
AX_125 Offline

Forum Guardian

Registered: 10th Nov 2003
Posts: 3791
Loc: Home
You could buy a hdd case and use the other hdd as an external USB drive.

Saves all the messing of jumpers and IDE cables etc.

One of these will do.

http://www.usbnow.co.uk/External_HDD_&_Cases-3.5%22_Hard_Drive_Cases/c10_25/index.html
_________________________

I am a signature virus, copy me into your signature to help me spread.

Top
#313889 - 29th Apr 2009 2:23pm Re: Is it possible....................... [Re: AX_125]
SoundLad Offline

Are you SoNutz?
Forum Master

Registered: 22nd Aug 2007
Posts: 2987
Loc: Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Just about to say about a HDD USB External case use it as a back up drive of some sort.. If you actually wanting to play the games that are on the HD in some cases it is possible but isnt in some othercases cause the game has to install on your main PC so it adds aload of stuff to the Registry and what nots.. But apart from that you can use it if you install it to your system making sure you set it to a slave drive swapping a little connection at the back of the hd but the best option is use a USB HDD Case it wont speed up your personal computer jaci it'l just give you more space to store stuff.. If you wanted to speed it up you either change the Processor of you system or upgrade your memory.. happy OR just my a faster computer lol if you where that desperate for more speed.
_________________________
Lee Mills


Top
#313944 - 29th Apr 2009 5:55pm Re: Is it possible....................... [Re: SoundLad]
Wench Offline

H4H County Volunteer
Wiki Veteran

Registered: 9th Aug 2008
Posts: 8616
Loc: Second Circle of Hell.
Originally Posted By: Riki_Wirral
wot speed is your tower currently?


Depends what mood Gerald the Hamster is in. It's very very slow but I think it's because of the amount of music and course work on it.

Originally Posted By: AX_125
You could buy a hdd case and use the other hdd as an external USB drive.

Saves all the messing of jumpers and IDE cables etc.

One of these will do.

http://www.usbnow.co.uk/External_HDD_&_Cases-3.5%22_Hard_Drive_Cases/c10_25/index.html

I shall look into that - cheers happy Ooooooooooooooooh I like the blue light one tease


Originally Posted By: SoundLad
Just about to say about a HDD USB External case use it as a back up drive of some sort.. If you actually wanting to play the games that are on the HD in some cases it is possible but isnt in some othercases cause the game has to install on your main PC so it adds aload of stuff to the Registry and what nots.. But apart from that you can use it if you install it to your system making sure you set it to a slave drive swapping a little connection at the back of the hd but the best option is use a USB HDD Case it wont speed up your personal computer jaci it'l just give you more space to store stuff.. If you wanted to speed it up you either change the Processor of you system or upgrade your memory.. happy OR just my a faster computer lol if you where that desperate for more speed.


The games have been wiped off it. I had to reformat it last year. I'd forgotten to reinstall Windows XP and have tried it but it gets so far and won't go any further - I'd guess it's safe to say it may well be fubard think I upgraded the memory on my main tower last year but it made bupkiss of an impact. Buying another one is not an option at the moment so it leaves me very few options.

Maybe breaking for parts is the best option raftl
_________________________
Sometimes Police Officers give more than just speeding tickets!

Itís hard to be fit as a fiddle when youíre shaped like a cello!

Top
#314697 - 1st May 2009 11:14pm Re: Is it possible....................... [Re: Wench]
purfek Offline
Smartchild

Registered: 23rd Apr 2009
Posts: 431
Loc: oxton
Actually you could improve the speed of your computer in several ways.
1) click on start button control panel
click on system then look for the hardware tab click on it then you will see device Manager click on that in device manager click on disk drives to select then right click and go to properties, click on the policy tab tick the enable write caching on the disk.
More tips and tweaks on the net
http://www.build-your-own-computers.com/optimize-windows-xp-disk-performance.html


http://www.pctipsbox.com/speed-up-windows-by-optimizing-your-page-file/

other tips include defrag the drive too.
More here on DMA
http://www.pcauthorities.com/pc-speed/activate-dma-mode-for-ide-controller


Edited by purfek (1st May 2009 11:20pm)

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  Mark 
Random Wirral Images

Click to View Topic.
Newest Topics
Talk Talk Security Breach
by fish5133
7th Dec 2016 6:19pm
Mobile mechanic needed to fit a wishbone
by anniebo28
6th Dec 2016 7:13pm
Vet help
by colin86
6th Dec 2016 6:25pm
Another tree down on Arrowe park Road?
by Davefabo
6th Dec 2016 11:08am
Game shocking prices!!!
by eddtheduck
5th Dec 2016 4:55pm
For Sale & Free
Micro desktop PC
by anniebo28
02:24 PM
Iphone 5s, Grey, near mint condition, £50
by anniebo28
7th Dec 2016 7:40pm
Roberts Concerto 2 CD Player For Visually Impaired
by Tranquil
6th Dec 2016 10:05pm
Gaming chair
by monsterz4
6th Dec 2016 8:27pm
MIG welder
by anniebo28
6th Dec 2016 1:34am
Featured Member
Registered: 23rd Aug 2010
Posts: 724
Newest Members
lucyw, BarbaraL, SherryLover, missyb, DavidSharpe
12137 Registered Users
Today's Birthdays
No Birthdays
New Wirral Info
Gymnastics coaches needed.
by margy
3rd Dec 2016 9:28pm
Wirral Globe
by locomotive
1st Dec 2016 6:25pm
Wirral TUC Meeting re Update on Wallasey CLP Suspe
by RUDEBOX
30th Nov 2016 9:16pm
World Aids Day Event 2016. Liverpool
by RUDEBOX
30th Nov 2016 9:05pm
A job. Company not named.
by venice
30th Nov 2016 6:30pm
News : New Topics
RIP Peter Vaughan
by diggingdeeper
7th Dec 2016 4:22am
That was kept a bit quiet?
by venice
6th Dec 2016 11:25am
Another tree down on Arrowe park Road?
by Davefabo
6th Dec 2016 11:08am
Bunchems Xmas present warning
by venice
6th Dec 2016 9:28am
Another Big Waste Fire in Liverpool.
by Wally1
4th Dec 2016 10:24am
New Enthusiast Forums
Talk Talk Security Breach
by fish5133
7th Dec 2016 6:19pm
Mobile mechanic needed to fit a wishbone
by anniebo28
6th Dec 2016 7:13pm
Vet help
by colin86
6th Dec 2016 6:25pm
Game shocking prices!!!
by eddtheduck
5th Dec 2016 4:55pm
54 plate renault clio 3rd brake light
by Mike72
1st Dec 2016 12:52pm
(Views 24hrs)Trending Newest Topics
Wirral Sunrise Sunset
Sunrise Fri 8:16am
Sunset Fri 3:53pm
Local Time Fri 12:16am
WikiWirral Can . . . .