Yes, it is perfectly safe to delete drive D: (back up anything you need first)
Then using the Disk Management system, create a new drive with maximum disk space allocation
The new larger partition will need formatting before it can be used. Disk Management with prompt you to do this during the steps to create the partition.
** REMEMBER** Anything left on the partition will be deleted when you remove the partition.